Featured Food: Fruits of Peru

_MG_3039

A visit to the produce market in a foreign country is typically a feast for the eyes, and in my case, a regular feast as well since I like to buy a sampling of all the items I’m unfamiliar with to taste-test afterwards. Peru is a treasure trove for fruit-lovers (I’m talking to you dad), and it’s no wonder there’s such diversity given the country’s extreme climate zones ranging from coast to Andes to Amazon. I am no expert in which species are native to this region, however I will give you a roundup of some of the fruits that intrigued me the most on my trip to the Peruvian fruit market. This is by no means a comprehensive list, and I will be compiling more South American fruits of interest as I continue to travel through other countries.

Of course along with all of the exotic fruits, there are also those that many people would recognize from our grocery stores back at home. An endless array of fruits are in abundance over here, and were more than likely  freshly harvested from within the country. (In order below: starfruit, apricots, figs, papaya whole & cross-section, bananas, two kinds of mangoes.)

I’ll start with my favorite fruit discovery from the Andean highlands: the cherimoya or “custard apple.” These succulent heart-shaped fruits are green and almost scaly looking from the outside, but have a creamy white interior that can be eaten with a spoon like custard. It’s a very popular ice cream flavor in Peru and I can understand why, the fruit itself honestly tastes like you’re eating dessert. Cherimoya’s flavor is hard to define, but it’s been described as a mixture of banana, pineapple, mango, peach, and strawberry—basically all of your favorite fruits combined into one. One could even go so far as to call this a healthy snack since it contains essential vitamins, minerals, nutrients, and antioxidants, though the high sugar content is something to watch out for.

Aguaymanto is a fruit of many names (Peruvian cherry, Pichuberry, Inca berry, groundcherry, tomatillo), but it is actually a type of gooseberry. Their distinctive appearance resembles a delicate paper lantern with a bright yellow-orange cherry inside. Aguaymanto was originally harvested by the Incas and continues to grow throughout the Andean region. The taste is a tangy mix of sweet and sour that Peruvians use in savory dishes, though I have never tried this myself. Vitamins A, B, and C as well as antioxidants, phosphorus, and protein make this one very healthy berry.

On my recent trip into Colca Canyon, I was introduced to the pacay or “ice cream bean” tree and got to taste this bizarre fruit for the first time. The outside resembles a long, green bean pod, while the inside looks like a furry, white worm. Technically pacay is a legume, but is sold along with other fruits in the market as a sweet, albeit fuzzy snack.

Pepino dulce is not to be confused with regular pepino, which means cucumber. Instead, this Andean fruit is more like an extremely juicy mini-melon, and its taste reminds me of honeydew. Pepino dulce stands out in a market because of its pastel yellow exterior with distinctive purple stripes—if it were up to me I’d rename it “tiger fruit.”

“Amazon tomato” is another name for the cocona, which as the name suggests, is native to the Peruvian jungle region. Its appearance is similar to a yellow or orange mini bell pepper, while the taste is more like that of a sour, citrusy tomato. Peruvians mainly cook with it in sauces, soups, and juices.

_MG_3047

I’ve saved one of the best (and strangest) fruits for last: the tuna cactus fruit, also known as the “prickly pear.” You may recognize the name as a fruit Baloo eats in The Jungle Book. When I first noticed this being sold in markets and on street corners, I didn’t think that eating a shriveled cactus sounded that appealing. It looks pink and green colored with small prickles on the outer skin; little did I know that on the inside it is a vibrant shade of magenta with juicy flesh and edible seeds, and the taste has been described as a combination of watermelon, raspberries, and kiwi. Popular all over Latin America, it is commonly made into bright pink jams, jellies, and juices. Due to its high content of vitamins, minerals, and fiber, prickly pear has even caught the “superfood” buzz. It is high in copper and magnesium and has smaller amounts of potassium, calcium, and phosphorus, as well as carotenoids and antioxidants.